Juan y Monica-22

.

.

M: Will he go back to jail? Why?

RV: The law says so. He will have to give himself up to get his freedom. Some arrangements will be made and he will be free, as long as it´s proved he is innocent.

M: How long will he be in jail?

RV: For the previous cause, just a pair of days, but I don´t think he will be free after that.

M: Why?

RV: He will be accused of Espindola´s murder.

M: How long will that take?

RV: I don´t know. Week,s maybe months. It´s not a simple case and I think you should be prevented. He may even found guilty. There are many weird things in what happened. It looks like your sister had gone to visit Cpt Espindola. He tried to take advantage of her and your husband arrived at that moment, and he shot. That´s not self-defense, as Mancera allegs.

M: I swear things didn´t happen that way. Espindola shot Juan, and almost killed him. He was unconscious.

RV: Then, was other man who killed the jail´s chief. Believe me Monica. Truth is always better than any lie. If you don´t want to see your husband in prison, you have to tell me what you know.

M: No. It wasn´t him.

.

* * *

.

M: He is a relative of my mother

J: I´m Juan de Alcazar.

RV: I know.I saw you at the church.

J: So did I. My wife didn´t tell you the truth. She wants to protect me so I don´t go back to jail, but I´m willing to face the consequences of my acts.

RV: If it had been so you wouldn´t have left the jail, and you´d waited till your innocence had been proved.

J: I avoided the justice rebelling to an unfair sentence.

RV: I see Lcdo Mancera taught you well. I know the fugitive is not punished if he´s found innocent, as long as ther have been no more crimes within the escape, and this is not the case.

J: I killed E to protect my life. He shot first and I was seriously wounded.

RV: Your wife told me so, and you even lost. But you couldn´t have shot him.

J: I got to do it.

RV: Was your sister in law with him?

J: I didn´t see her.

RV: What was she doing in his quarters? That wasn´t the direct route from your cell to the exit.

J: Espindola found me in the corridor. He made me go to his quarters, and shot me there, and I defended myself.

RV: See, Mr Alcazar. That´s not the way things happened. If he wanted to kill you, he´d done it as soon as he saw you in the corridor. So, either yo went to the corridor looking for someone, or you went right to kill him. There is other stuff. I think this morning you faced Mr Alcazar in a duel, and duels are punished by our laws. Beg your pardon. Night , madam.

M: Good night.

.

* * *

.

J: Why did you tell him I was unconscious after the shot? Why did you tell him I didn´t kill Espindola? We´d agreed.

M: No, We agreed nothing. You told you´d blame for that death, but I never agreed. Didn´t you listen to Marcelo? If you weren´t defending Aimeé, what were you doing in his quarters?

J: He wil have to believe me.

M: What if he doesn´t? You´ll spend weeks, months, years in jail? Why did you deny Aimee was there? Why do you protect her?

J: I don´t want to have more trouble with Andres and his family, so all of this ends. Aimee went to see Espindola trying to help me.

M: You worry for everybody, don´t you? Tuerto, Serafin… what about me? Don´t you think about me?

J: Yes.

M: It doesn´t look like that. Of course I feel real sorry for your friend, and it´s ok if you have to go back to jail, but just for a short time as Marcelo said, not longer. Why are you always the one who has to pay?

J: Because it was my fault.

M: It´s not true. That´s the way things happened, bad luck.

J: I´m the one with good luck.

M: It´s no like that. You are obstinate, fool. Juan, please…

J: Maybe we never should have been married.

M: Why do you say that?

J: My life was not made for share with anyone. I´m always in danger. It´s unfair to involve you in my problems.

M: But I want to be involved.

J: I don´t.

M: What do you mean?

J: It´s time for you to forget me.

M: Forget you? Are you insane?

J: I lost my mind when I hoped I could have a wife, children, a proper family, but people like me can´t aspire to have that.

M: You don´t know what you´re saying. Besides, what´s all that about forgetting you? What do you want?

J: To be apart, to stop seeing each other, and if I can´t get out of all of this, you are free to ask for a null marriage.

M: Never. I´ll never do it.

J: Don´t you realise if RV wants to I can spend years in prison? And if it doesn´t happen, do you think Andres will leave me in peace? He will take another excuse to challenge me again.

M: Don´t accept the challenge.

J: Ok, I don´t accept and what? Do you think it will be enough?

M: Let´s move on.

J: Where, how many times? I don´t like to escape. Is that the life you want for you and our children?

M: With you anything.

J: But not me anymore. Anything? I prefer to face it alone.

M: No, juan, wait.

J: Don´t follow me.

M: Don´t leave, then. We have to talk.

J: I can´t stay. Surely RV told the police I was here.

M: We´ll see each other later, or maybe tomorrow, where you say.

J: I don´t want to.

M: At least let´s say goodbye in other way.

J: No. I won´t change my mind. I love you.

Translated by doike on youtube

Yorum bırakın